The Horticultural Society of New York

Partners

Collaboration is a vital component of everything the Hort does. We partner with greening and environmental organizations, academic institutions, departments of the local, state and national government, cultural and arts organizations, community-based groups and social service agencies. If you are interested in collaborating with the Hort on a project, please contact one of our staff members here.

The mission of the Horticultural Society of New York (The Hort) is to sustain the vital connection between people and plants. Our social service and public programs educate and inspire, growing a broad community that values horticulture for the many benefits it brings to our environment, our neighborhoods, and our lives.

Founded in 1900, and incorporated in 1902, with J. P. Morgan, Louis C. Tiffany, and J.J. Phelps among its earliest members, the goal of the Horticultural Society was to further the love and knowledge of horticulture through informative monthly meetings, formal lectures, and seasonal flower shows.

Today, over 100 years later, we are still growing a community of urban gardeners. Our development reflects the changes in urban horticulture itself, from a focus on specimen plants and ornamental gardens viewed alone in their majestic beauty, to a holistic understanding that plants and gardens are inexorably linked to the health of people, wildlife and our environment.

At The Hort, we recognize the interrelatedness and complexity of the “green” issues in our city, and therefore the core of our efforts is to educate and inform across the spectrum. We still help New Yorkers know plants and gardens as aesthetic wonders, but now our programs and projects encompass urban farming, rooftop gardening, container vegetable production, bioremediation, storm water abatement, landscape design, vocational training, horticultural therapy and environmental literacy.

Cultivating Plants, People & Purpose

OUR LOCATIONS

Education Center
Denny Farrell Riverbank State Park
679 Riverside Drive, New York, NY 10031
Midtown Administrative Offices & Library
148 West 37th Street, 13th Floor
New York, NY 10018

OUR PROGRAMS

APPLE SEED builds learning gardens in public schools for thousands of disadvantaged children suffering from a lack of green spaces and fresh foods, and provides much-needed professional development to their teachers.

GREENHOUSE offers horticultural therapy and vocational training to incarcerated individuals on Rikers Island and helps them learn not just a skill but how to change the very course of their lives.

GREENTEAM provides transitional employment to at-risk youth and ex-offenders and helps them secure full-time jobs.

NEIGHBORHOOD PLAZA PROGRAM beautifies public spaces in low-income communities across the five boroughs and helps make New York greener.

NYDIGS provides affordable horticulture-based workshops, activities, and conferences to positively change perceptions and behaviors toward health, community, and the environment.

Board of Directors

Jared Goss, Chairman
Frances Schultz, Vice-Chair
Bruce W. Addison, Treasurer
Martin Breheny, Secretary

George Ball
Cynthia Brann, ex officio
Elizabeth Cabot
Anita Cruso

James P. Druckman
Michael A. Kovner
Michele E. Lindsay
Mario Nievera
Lily O’Boyle
Duncan Sahner
Anne Shearman
Mitchell Silver, ex officio
Patricia Sovern

Advisory Board

CeCe Black
Andrea Henderson Fahnestock
Nina Griscom
Janet Mavec
Elizabeth Scholtz

Staff

Sara Hobel, Executive Director
shobel@thehort.org

George Pisegna, Deputy Director & Chief of Horticulture
gpisegna@thehort.org

Administration

Lauren Keane-Farrell, Chief of Staff
lkeanefarrell@thehort.org

Cleo Lewis, Director of Finance
clewis@thehort.org

Adriana Narain, Finance Associate, Grants & Contracts
anarain@thehort.org

Children’s Education & Professional Development

Pamela Ito, Director of Education
pito@thehort.org

Gandhi, Environmental Educator
gandhi@thehort.org

Anandi Premlall, Senior Environmental Educator
apremlall@thehort.org

Anna Sherman, Program Manager
asherman@thehort.org

Greenhouse and Kitchen Garden at Denny Farrell Riverbank State Park

David Sleininger, Greenhouse and Garden Supervisor 
dsleininger@thehort.org

Daniel Wohl, General Manager, Education Center & Greenhouse
dwohl@thehort.org

Development & Special Events

Morgan Murphy, Development Associate
mmurphy@thehort.org

Kevin Sullivan, Senior Grant Writer
ksullivan@thehort.org

GreenHouse & Horticultural Therapy

Mechthild (Hilda) Krus (HTR), Director of GreenHouse & Horticultural Therapy
hkrus@thehort.org

Sarah Schluep, GreenHouse Program Manager & Horticultural Therapist
sschluep@thehort.org

Becca Amos, Senior GreenHouse Instructor
bamos@thehort.org

Pamela Koch, Senior GreenHouse Instructor
pkoch@thehort.org

Jessica Myers, Senior GreenHouse Instructor
jmyers@thehort.org

Melanie Reed, Senior GreenHouse Instructor
mreed@thehort.org

William Robb, GreenHouse Program Manager
wrobb@thehort.org

Alexander Rubildo, GreenHouse Instructor
arubildo@thehort.org

 

GreenTeam

Nick Guntli, Director of GreenTeam
Horticulturalist
nguntli@thehort.org

Wilson Berroa, Seasonal Gardener
wberroa@thehort.org

Katherine Biggar, Administrative Assistant
kbiggar@thehort.org

Natalie Brickajlik, Program Development Manager of GreenTeam
nbrickajlik@thehort.org

Patrick Costello, Workshop Instructor
pcostello@thehort.org

Paulene Hosein, Gardener
phosein@thehort.org

Alexander Hromockyj, Assistant Manager of GreenTeam
ahromockyj@thehort.org

Jeremy Jungels, Assistant Director of GreenTeam
jjungels@thehort.org

Josuan Martinez, Seasonal Gardener
jmartinez@thehort.org

Taariq King, Seasonal Gardener
tking@thehort.org

Fabricio Suxo, Field Gardener
fsuxo@thehort.org

Craig Zeitlin, GreenTeam Manager
czeitlin@thehort.org

Neighborhood Plaza Program

Georgia Faulkner, Operations Manager
gfaulkner@thehort.org

We love motivated, green-minded individuals. Our team is dedicated to providing environmental, cultural, and educational resources for all New Yorkers. You can view our current open positions, internships & volunteer opportunities at Idealist.org.

Join the Team

Current Opportunities

Horticultural Therapist/ Horticulturist/ Rehabilitation-Vocational Instructor: Therapeutic Horticulture Program for Youth and Adults Currently Incarcerated

Educator

Collaboration is a vital component of everything the Hort does. We partner with greening and environmental organizations, academic institutions, departments of the local, state and national government, cultural and arts organizations, community-based groups and social service agencies. If you are interested in collaborating with the Hort on a project, please contact one of our staff members here.

The Horticultural Society of New York’s archives (1811 – 2010) are available from The New York Historical Society through NYU Digital Library Technology Services.
Guide to the Horticultural Society of New York Records