The Horticultural Society of New York


Staff|Current Interns|Board of Directors


General Inquiries

Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 100

Executive Director

Sara Hobel
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 116

Deputy Director

George Pisegna, Deputy Director & Chief of Horticulture
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 115


Travis Jones, Administrative Associate
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 100

Cleo Lewis, Bookkeeper
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 108

Children's Education & Professional Development

Pamela Ito, Director of Children's Education
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 106

Michelle Byron, Educator

Ashley Cruce, Educator

Design & Brand

Allegra Denton, Creative Director
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 171


Stephanie Chin, Director of Donor Relations & Special Events
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 101

Danielle Vazquez, Manager of Grants & Contributions
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 109

GreenHouse & Horticultural Therapy

Mechthild (Hilda) Krus (HTR), Director of GreenHouse & Horticultural Therapy
Telephone:(Work Cell) 646.327.2756
Telephone: (Office) 212.757.0915, ext. 104

Deb Shaw, GreenHouse Instructor

Landscaping & Workforce Development

Nick Guntli, Manager of Horticulture & Workforce Development
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 103

Library & Archives

For information about our library or to schedule a research appointment,
please contact 212.757.0915, ext. 100 or email

Membership & Programs

Chris Murtha, Director of Membership & Programs
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 121

Claire Briguglio, Manager of Membership & Programs
Telephone: 212.757.0915, ext. 109

Current Interns

Children’s Education:
Xinbei Liu
Anna Zhang

Matthew Delsesto
Elizabeth Fort
Caroline Kemp
Winston Lofton
Brigid Sheehan
Zachary Turck
Karen Waltuch

Special Events:
Kamal James

Web and Design:
Carmen Lin

Board of Directors

Kamie Lightburn, Co-Chair
Mary Van Pelt, Co-Chair
Sharon Casdin, Vice-Chair
Bruce W. Addison, Treasurer
Sheila Stephenson, Secretary

Dana Albarella James
Salvatore Bacarella
George Ball
Teresa Carleo
Missey Condie
Marianne Engle
Jared Goss
Jay Herman
Dennis S. Hersch
Michele Lindsay
Mario Nievera
Lily O’Boyle
Joseph Ponte, Ex-Officio
Guy N. Robinson
Frances Schultz
Anne Shearman-Betts
Mitchell Silver, Ex-Officio
Isaac Sutton

Advisory Board

CeCe Black
Andrea Henderson Fahnestock
Nina Griscom
Janet Mavec
Elizabeth Scholtz
Jessica Tcherepnine

Financial Information

Copies of The Horticultural Society of New York's latest annual report or IRS Form 990 may be obtained by writing to The Horticultural Society of New York, 148 West 37th Street, 13th Floor, New York, NY 10018. IRS Form 990 is also available at Guidestar (this link will take you directly to our organization).

The Horticultural Society of New York